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March 18, 2024 

 

To: Tattoo and Body Artists 

 

Re:  Policy Change to the Rules Relating to Tattoo and Body Piercing Practioners 

 

Dear Tattoo and Body Artists: 

 
The Department of Health and Human Services has become aware of a safety issue regarding cleaning, sanitizing and 
disposal of needles included in our rules.  The particular section of 10-144 Chapter 210 Rules Relating to Tattoo Section 
5.B.5 Care of Instruments and 10-144 Chapter 209 Rules Relating to Body Piercing 5.B.5 Care of Instruments states 
“Used needles shall be cleaned and sterilized before disposal. An ultrasonic cleaning machine and autoclave shall be 
recommended to fulfill this requirement.”  

 

We have determined that cleaning and sterilizing used needles before they are disposed of presents a safety issue and 
therefore the Department will not enforce this section. The Department recommends the practice of disposing of used 
needles directly into an approved sharps container which must be: 

• Closable, puncture-resistant, and leak-proof on sides and bottom.  

• Accessible, maintained upright, and not allowed to overfill. 

• Labeled or color coded according to 29 CFR 1910.1030(g)(1)(i) 

• Colored red or labeled with the biohazard symbol. 

• Labeled in fluorescent orange or orange-red, with lettering and symbols in a contrasting color [29 CFR 
1910.1030(g)(1)(i)(C)]. Red sharps containers may be substituted for labels [29 CFR 
1910.1030(g)(1)(i)(E)].  

Biomedical Waste Management Rules: 

Tattoo studios must be in compliance with the Biomedical Waste Management Rules.  Maine Law and the Biomedical 
Waste Management Rules require the registration of facilities that generate biomedical waste which includes Tattoo and 
Body Piercing Studios.  The Maine Department of Environmental Protection (Maine DEP) administers this program.   
 
There is an initial registration fee of $50 to obtain a biomedical waste generator number.  An annual registration fee 
requirement is approximately $25 for tattoo studios. This annual registration fee requirement is assessed on the average 
amount of biomedical waste generated per month.  
 
Every package of biomedical waste leaving your studio must be labeled with your biomedical waste generator number as 
well as the name of the studio or operator, the address, telephone number and the date packaged.  There is no time limit 
applying to storage of biomedical waste at the generator’s site. 
 
If you think you may be registered, do not know your biomedical waste generator status or have questions about the 
biomedical waste rules, contact the Maine DEP at 287-2651.   
 

Disposal Methods of the Sharps Container: 

http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owadisp.show_document?p_table=STANDARDS&p_id=10051#1910.1030(g)(1)(i)
http://www.osha.gov/OshStd_gif/10ZBHSC.gif
http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owadisp.show_document?p_table=STANDARDS&p_id=10051#1910.1030(g)(1)(i)(C)
http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owadisp.show_document?p_table=STANDARDS&p_id=10051#1910.1030(g)(1)(i)(C)
http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owadisp.show_document?p_table=STANDARDS&p_id=10051#1910.1030(g)(1)(i)(E)
http://www.osha.gov/pls/oshaweb/owadisp.show_document?p_table=STANDARDS&p_id=10051#1910.1030(g)(1)(i)(E)


 

 

1) Arrange for disposal of small amounts of waste with another generator: 

The generator or a blood borne pathogen trained employee may transport up to fifty pounds of biomedical waste to 
another generator or a licensed biomedical waste treatment or transfer facility without the need to obtain a Biomedical 
Waste Transporter License from Maine DEP.  

Local hospitals may be willing to dispose of biomedical waste from tattoo studios.  Contact the housekeeping or 
environmental services staff at the local hospital and inquire as to whether they accept waste sharps from community 
generators.  Some hospitals do provide this service.  This is usually the least costly option for small generators.  
  
2) Arrange for disposal with licensed biomedical waste disposal company: 
 
There is a list on the DEP website (http://www.maine.gov/dep/rwm/biomedical/index.htm) of commercial companies that 
are licensed in Maine to transport biomedical waste. 
 
Note: the Maine DEP has licensed the companies on the list but does not make recommendations on specific 
companies.   
 
3) Arrange to use a “ a “Mail Back Sharps” program.  There are several companies offering this service.  The generator 
orders a sharps container of the needed capacity and associated packaging, postage, treatment, and disposal costs and 
pays those costs in advance.  When the sharps container is full the generator packages it and then the package is 
shipped to a treatment facility by the US Postal Service. Performing an internet search on “mail back sharps” should 
produce several results. 

 
For further information regarding biomedical waste registration requirements or general questions regarding the Maine 
Biomedical Waste Management Rules or the Maine Hazardous Waste Management Rules; please contact the Maine DEP 
at (207) 287-2651 or visit the Biomedical Waste Page at the DEP website: 

http://www.maine.gov/dep/rwm/biomedical/index.htm 

 
Should you have any questions or if I may be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at 207-287-5691. 
 
Sincerely, 
 

Sincerely, 

 
Lisa M. Silva, Program Manager 
Maine CDC Health Inspection Program 
Division of Environmental and Community Health 
11 SHS – 286 Water Street 
Augusta, ME 04333-0011 
Email: Lisa.Silva@Maine.Gov 

 
cc:   District and Municipal Health Inspectors 

Nancy Beardsley, Director, Division of Environmental and Community Health 
Department of Environmental Protection 

http://www.maine.gov/dep/rwm/biomedical/index.htm
http://www.maine.gov/dep/rwm/biomedical/index.htm
mailto:Lisa.Silva@Maine.Gov

